Monday, November 12, 2007

One way to rollback changes using Teamprise

I don't purport to say this is the best, or only way to rollback changes using Teamprise Explorer. It's just one way we came up with.

Before you do this, make sure you DON'T have "Automatically get the latest version before check out" selected under Tools > Preferences > Source Control. From my findings, this setting can cause some issues with the solution below. I'm working with Teamprise to see if there is a bug, or if I'm solving a problem with the wrong solution.

To rollback changes, or in other words, revert the latest version to a previous version:

  • Right Click on the file you need to rollback and select View History. Right Click on the appropriate changeset and select Get this version.

  • Right Click on the file in the Source Control window and say Check out for Edit. You should now have the old version of the file checked out.

  • Right Click on the file and select Check In Pending Changes...

  • The Resolve Conflict window will pop up. Select the file and click Resolve... Select Undo Server changes. This will tell the server that you mean to change the most current version of the file on the server.

  • Lastly, Right Click on the file and select Check In Pending Changes... This will commit the changes to the database.

3 comments:

BrionS said...

Very helpful! Thank you so much. Following a similar pattern you can restore deleted files/folders by selecting the parent folder, getting a specific version (instead of viewing history) and then continue as before with the Check out for edit and conflict resolution.

Just be aware that for folder undeletes, you need to uncheck all pending changes for subfolders and files because you'll only be able to resolve the conflict for the top-level folder, the rest will be recovered automatically.

Ananda said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Ananda said...
This comment has been removed by the author.